MVA Leadership Institute

Please join Metro Vancouver Alliance members at our 2-Day Leadership Institute

Friday, October 6, 2017 7-9pm & Saturday, October 7, 2017 9:30-4pm (We start and end on time!)

This two day training is for those who share an interest in strengthening civil society and working together for the common good. Part of the training experience will be working with other community leaders from diverse institutions on the universals of broad based community organizing.

The institute provides content based on the philosophy and practices developed by the Industrial Areas Foundation (IAF) in over 70 years of organizing experience.

The topics include:

  • Why organize? examining the history and traditions of our labour, faith, community and educational organizations.
  • The fundamental organizing skills - individual relational meetings, listening sessions, research, negotiations and action.
  • Strengthening our institutions - systematically engaging people in a culture that is relational, action-oriented and reflective.
  • Problems vs. issues - moving from general problems to concrete, winnable issues. Using relational power in the public arena to negotiate for the common good.


  • Participants from MVA member organizations: FREE
  • Participants NOT from MVA organizations: $100 for the weekend (to be applied to future membership dues). Bursaries available.
  • Refreshments and lunch will be provided.


  •  Please register to secure your seat.  Please email [email protected] if you have any questions or dietary restrictions or require other accomodations.

Click here to download the poster to put up in your institution


October 06, 2017 at 7pm - October 07, 2017
BCGEU Lower Mainland Area Office
2920 Virtual Way
Vancouver, BC V5M 4X3
Google map and directions
Deborah Littman ·
Kimberley Laing Neil Seedhouse Tracy Tobin Rosanna Hussain Daxter Stucki Kelly Malcolmson Wilson Liang Margaret Teng Richard Lange Anne Hales Maria Urquia Ailene Serias Remmy Mpitarusuma Deborah Littman Leo Yu aman dhaliwal Kusam Doal Roxanne Martell Tim Cheung Victoria Marie Vivian Seegers Rick Holzapfel Mahen Ramdharry Adele Schmidt Benny Chou Albert Melenius Rosalind Kellett Gail Berger Tara Shushtarian Christy McLeod Audrey Anne Guay Timothy Stacey shayna Hornstein Barbara Warner Sharon Hollingsworth

Member Institutions Accomplishments IAF Northwest


get updates